WE NEED TO START NAMING AND SHAMING RAPISTS…!!!

FB_IMG_1494328698998

From my inbox… her room mate’s cousin organised for both of them to be raped on campus. He raped his cousin.

Morning Aunty Bunmi, good job ure doing on the Rape series.

I was gang raped with my room mate in our 1st year at the Polytechnic by her cousin and his friends who were at University of Ibadan.UI was next to the Polytechnic.

I still remember the guy’s name who orchestrated the Rape. My room mate met him in Poly earlier in the day and he said he would check on her later in the evening. She gave him our address at the quarters.

He came in the evening with another friend and she introduced him as (name witheld) her cousin in UI. He is very dark with a rich deep voice. This was around 1995 and 1996.

They said they wanted to take us out for a few drinks and came back to pick us at about 8pm. They srokw straight to a house around Sango on the way to Mokola. Big house with big compound. They said they wanted to pick some cash.

He then asked us to come.in to meet his uncle. How dumb we were!. We walked in to see 3 more guys. One of them brought out a gun. They led us to different rooms.

My room mate was raped by her cousin and another guy. I was raped by 2 or 3 diff guys till the early hours of the morning.

The mistake we made was that my room mate trusted her cousin. We did not go out with complete strangers. I learnt a hard lesson from my Year 1.

I later saw my room mate’s cousin several years after the incident . We had left school. It was at a shopping plaza in Ikeja and he was with a friend. He kept staring at me . I couldn’t bring myself to confront him then as I had mixed emotions in me, Anger, shame, he was talking to the person he came with and I don’t know what they were saying. This is the 1st time I am openly talking about it. My friend got pregnant and she had to have an abortion. I was lucky not to be pregnant.

By Olu Bunmi

Leave a Reply

